Where do I see myself at the end of the summer?

It has become very normal for me to spend a weekend every 3-4 months thinking about my future and trying to decide if I’m on the right track. There always seem to be the same triggers for these weekends. Either I have done something very bad, or something I’m proud of. Without these pushes to the extremes, I’m quite content bobbing through the days.

On the verge of a summer not like any I have experienced thus far, I am proud to say that I’ve spent the weekend fantasizing of all the places I’ll go. And I don’t mean locations.

So here are a few things I have learned about myself in the last few years

  1. I am a terrible student in the “normal” sense, if I’m not interested good luck getting the knowledge in BUT– if I’m interested, there are no limits to my obsession
  2. I love helping people fix problems
  3. I put lots of value on physical/ technical skills– things that take commitment to learn
  4. I only feel like I’ve accomplished something if at one point or another it made me uncomfortable (beyond my limits)

To my future self (yes, you little one)

I’ve got lots of plans for you. I want you to learn as much as you possibly can this summer and truly develop a skill. I hope you feel strong, and accomplished and fulfilled. I hope you struggled beyond anything you’ve ever been through and I hope you really have something to show for it.

They say to become a master at something, you need to dedicate at least 20,000 hours to it. By the end of the summer, you will have spent about 300 hours learning the basics for Ruby Development. Please remember, 300 hours does not make you an expert. You are not finished yet. I expect you to feel like this world is just opening up for you.

The things I hope you spent time on include:

  • Social Media improvements, you’d better know how to use twitter– maybe you’ll even like it
  • Professional branding, what is the value that we (You+Me+I)  have to offer?
  • Technical skills– did you get a good understanding of….?
    • Ruby
    • Ruby on Rails (MVC patterns, testing, AJAX, caching, profiling, etc.)
    • UNIX (command-line / terminal stuff)
    • SQL
    • Git
    • JavaScript
    • jQuery
    • LAYERS!!!!!!!
  • Integrating Healthcare– did you visit your contacts in Ottawa? Did you open your eRecords books? Can you picture a model that  will make jobs easier for home care

 

Normally I map my life out in 5-10 year increments, I think this course may be a major, defining step for my 20’s. I’ve talked about wanting to work in IT and Systems Architecture but to this point there is little I have done outside of work/school that gives me the skills to really accomplish it. Don’t give up.

Leave a Reply

